April 14, 2023

Another big Reubens announcement out of Jersey City...

 | National Cartoonists SocietyOn behalf of the board of directors of the National Cartoonists Society, It is our great pleasure to announce that Brian Walker will be awarded the Silver T-Square at the 77th Annual Reuben Awards in Jersey City!

The Silver T-Square is awarded, by unanimous vote of the NCS Board, to persons who have demonstrated outstanding dedication or service to the Society or the profession. We are pleased to be able to recognize Brian’s long-standing commitment to the National Cartoonist Society, our members, the cartooning community and its fandom.

Brian has had a diverse background in professional cartooning and cartoon scholarship: He is a founder and former director of the Museum of Cartoon Art, where he worked for nearly 20 years. He has written, edited or contributed to forty-five books on cartoon art, including the definitive history, The Comics – The Complete Collection published by Abrams ComicArts.

He taught cartoon history at the School of Visual Arts and has served as curator for seventy-five cartoon exhibitions including The Sunday Funnies: 100 Years of Comics in American Life, at the Barnum Museum in Bridgeport, Connecticut, 100 Years of American Comics at the Belgian Center for Comic Art in Brussels, Masters of American Comics at the Hammer Museum and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles and George Herriman – Krazy Kat is Krazy Kat is Krazy Kat at the Reina Sofia Museum in Madrid. He is the founder and current chairman of the Connecticut Chapter of the National Cartoonists Society, and has been an invaluable part of the NCS community for decades.

His remarkable commitment to the cartooning industry has been made on top of his duties as part of the creative team that produces the comic strips, Beetle Bailey and Hi and Lois for nearly 40 years.

Other recipients of the Silver T-Square over the last 72 years include Presidents Harry S. Truman and Dwight D. Eisenhower, James Thurber, Milton Caniff, Walt Kelly, Mort Walker, Herbert Block, Bil Keane and industry stalwarts including Joe D’Angelo of King Features, The Billy Ireland Library’s Lucy Caswell and most recently in 2022, Jeannie Schulz.

The award will be presented during the 77th Annual Reuben Awards, 6th-8th Sept 2023, in Jersey City, NJ. Stay tuned to the NCS website and social media for more major announcements on our line-up for the weekend. You can register early for this year’s Reubens to get a discounted rate. Don’t wait! Book your spot today.

See you in Jersey City!

Jason Chatfield
on behalf of the Board of Directors,
National Cartoonist Society

Stay Up To Date

Join the NCS mailing list for the latest news, events and much more!