The 2016 Eisner Award Nominations Announced!

April 25, 2016

The 2016 Eisner Award nominations, the comic book industry’s highest honors, have been announced this week, and several NCS members are among those honored with a nomination.

The NCS would like to congratulate the following members (indicated in bold type) for their prestigious nominations:

Tom Heintjes (and art director David Folkman) for Hogan’s Alley, edited by Tom Heintjes (Hogan’s Alley) in the Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism category.

Funky Winkerbean

Funky Winkerbean

Tom Batiuk for The Complete Funky Winkerbean, vol. 4, by Tom Batiuk, edited by Mary Young (Black Squirrel Books) in the Best Archival Collection/Project-Strips.

Roses in December

Tom Batiuk for Roses in December: A Story of Love and Alzheimer’s, by Tom Batiuk and Chuck Ayers (Kent State University Press) in the Best Graphic Album – Reprint category.

White Boy in Skull Valley

Peter Maresca for White Boy in Skull Valley, by Garrett Price, edited by Peter Maresca (Sunday Press) in the Best Archival Collection/Project-Strips category.

We also extend congratulations to NCS members whose work was honored with an Eisner nomination even if they are not personally listed as a nominee:


Jean Schulz (widow of Charles M. Schulz) for Only What’s Necessary: Charles M. Schulz and the Art of Peanuts, by Chip Kidd and Geoff Spear (Abrams ComicArts) being nominated for both Best Comics-Related Book and Best Publication Design categories, and for Peanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz, edited by Shannon Watters (BOOM! Studios/KaBOOM!) in the Best Anthology category.

Will Eisner

• The late Will Eisner for Champion of the Graphic Novel, by Paul Levitz (Abrams ComicArts) in the Best Comics-Related Book category.

100 Years of King Features

• Our friends at King Features Syndicate for King of the Comics: One Hundred Years of King Features Syndicate, edited by Dean Mullaney (IDW/LOAC) in the Best Comics-Related Book category.

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, established in 1988, are the comic book industry’s highest honor. The Eisners are named after late NCS member Will Eisner who was first known for creating his newspaper comic character The Spirit in 1940, and later became a highly respected pioneering force behind the graphic novel genre in the 1970s. The awards are handed out each year at Comic-Con International in San Diego. This year’s convention will take place July 21-24.

To see all the Eisner Award nominations, feel free to visit

Stay Up To Date

Join the NCS mailing list for the latest news, events and much more!